Green College Staff


The Nominating Committee for the Advisory Board of Green College at the University of British Columbia invites its Resident Members, Society Members (former Resident Members) and Members of Common Room to put forward names for possible nominees to Board positions.

Positions are open for (1) Member at Large from the general community, (1) Society Member (former Resident Member), and (1) UBC Faculty Member of Common Room.

The Board, consisting of 4 members in each of the above 3 categories, in addition to several ex officio members (including the Co-chairs of the Council of Resident Members), advises the Principal on all aspects of the College's organization, membership, programming and development. Appointment is for a 4-year term, renewable once. (For current Board membership in these categories, see below this Call for Nominations.)

The Board seeks to appoint individuals who will be committed to the flourishing of the College, irrespective of whether they have a strong current connection to it or not. In making its nominations to the Board, the Nominating Committee will have special regard to the diversity and overall balance of membership.

Names, contact information (if available) and brief biographical descriptions should be submitted in confidence to the Chair of the Nominating Committee, Dr Nicola Hodges, by February 1, 2021. Self-nominations are welcome. Please note that while every suggestion of a name or names will be acknowledged upon receipt, further communication will only ensue at this stage if the Committee decides to consider nominating the person(s) in question for appointment in 2021.

For information:

The vacancy for a Faculty Member of Common Room on the Board exists because John Gilbert, Foundation Fellow of the College, is stepping down this year. The new faculty member on the Board will join fellow Faculty Members of Common Room Graeme Wynn (Geography), Mark Turin (First Nations & Endangered Languages and Anthropology) and Agnes d’Entremont (Mechanical Engineering).

The vacancy for a Member at Large on the Board from the general community exists because former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, the Rt Hon Beverley McLachlin PC CC, also a Foundation Fellow of the College, is stepping down. The new Member at Large on the Board will join Scott McIntyre CM OBC (co-founder and former CEO of the publishing company Douglas & McIntyre), Frances Picherak (President, Petrine Consulting Inc, Vancouver) and Kathleen Woodward (Director of the Simpson Center for the Humanities and Professor English at the University of Washingon).

The vacancy for a Society Member (i.e. former Resident Member) on the Board exists because Arnie Guha (Partner, Phase 5 Consulting Group Inc, Toronto) is expected to step up to become Chair of the Board in succession to John Diggens at the spring annual meeting. Arnie was a Resident Member of the College in the mid-1990s while doing his PhD in English at UBC. The new Society Member on the Board will join fellow “Greenies” Airini (Professor and Dean, Faculty of Education and Social Work, Thompson Rivers University, BC, and [from Feb 1, 2021] Provost and VP Academic, University of Saskatchewan), Nicola Hodges (Professor of Kinesiology, UBC, Chair of the Nominating Committee), and Darlene Seto (Assistant Director, Substance Use & Strategic Initiatives, BC Government).